Uncategorized

She-Poet, Maya Angelou, Phenomenal Woman


THE POET BY DAY

American She-Poet Maya Angelou (1928-2014), Photo 2013, York College under CC BY-SA 2.0 Maya Angelou (1928-2014)

41kNzUbndlL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_A reading by Maya Angelou yesterday on Poetry Please brought her front and center in my mind.  How could we celebrate Black History Month and not include Maya Angelou? So here she is, not a conventional beauty, but a Beauty and a Refuge … wise and sassy Phenomenal Woman

phenomenal |fəˈnämənəl|
adjective
1 very remarkable; extraordinary
2 perceptible by the senses or through immediate experience: the phenomenal world.

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows…

View original post 210 more words

Leave a Reply

